skip to Main Content

Timothy Miti

My name is Timothy Miti a Zambian citizen and I am 26 years old, I was born in 1993 in Eastern part of Zambia.

Family background

I am the last born in the family of 3 brothers and 4 sisters (7) and my both parents are subsistence farmers in eastern province. mostly I was brought up by my elder brother since 2001 when I left my parents to live with my brother in the capital city of Zambia – Lusaka.

Education background

I started schooling in 2001 at Kalingalinga basic school Lusaka where I did my primary education from 2001 to 2006, then in 2007 and 2008 I did my junior secondary education at Jacaranda secondary school and from 2009 to 2011 I did my high school education at Lusaka High School where I obtained a school certificate.

Work experience

After completing my high school in 2011 I wanted to find a job and take myself to college but I couldn’t find anything to help myself until June 2016 when I came across Kein Chabene in Lusaka who told me about 500 miles organisation. By then 500 miles was looking for someone to work in eastern province of Zambia at saint Francis Hospital to do some repairs of devices and to organise outreach programs. But the job required a short training, therefore, before I went to do the main job in eastern province – firstly I worked at University Teaching Hospital (UTH) in Lusaka as part of my training from June 2016 to December 2016 and 500 miles was paying me during my training. In January 2017. My supervisor (Gibson Mwale) at UTH recommended me to go and work in Eastern Province. However, I went to stay and work in Eastern at Saint Francis hospital and I loved the job. I worked in Eastern Province from January 2017 to June 2019, paid by 500 miles. At the end of June 2019 I left St Francis hospital when 500 miles decided to take me to school to study for 3-year diploma in prosthetics and orthotics in India.

 Currently I am in my second year of my studies at Mobility India.

My vision

I love my job and I want to participate in changing lives of people living with disabilities to give them chance to live and enjoy independent life by offering the best prosthetics and orthotics cervices. Therefore, I don’t limit myself how much to study in this field. At the moment I am looking forward to finishing my diploma course in India and in future I would want to go for a degree or up-to masters in prosthetics and orthotics.

 Many thanks to 500 miles for the sponsorship. 

Back To Top