Skip to content

Chaumbwa Banda

Family background

In the year 1990 on the 11th of November, I was born into the loving and caring family of Mr. and Mrs. Banda. I was the third born in a family of six children (three girls and three boys). I was named a traditional name – Chaumbwa – which means creation.

I was raised in the eastern part of Zambia particularly at Katete district. Mr Peter Banda is my father.  He is a Clinical Officer by profession and my mother is a housewife.  My father saw it as his responsibility to make sure I went to school.

School background

I started schooling in 1997 at Jersey Basic School. In 2004 I sat my grade seven exams and qualified to grade eight for which I attended at another school called Omelo Mumba Basic. In 2006 I sat my grade nine examination and qualified to grade 10 – for which I attended yet another school called Chizongwe Technical Boarding High School.  This school is situated in the headquarters of Eastern Province and it was my first time to be far from home. However, I finalized my secondary school in 2009 with a pleasing Certificate.


While in the society I was very curious to do a part time job.  Fortunately enough, through St Francis Hospital in Katete, I came across 500 miles. They engaged me to go to Lusaka and work at the Zambian Italian Orthopaedic Hospital and because of my hard work there (pictured above), 500 miles sponsored me to go to college in September, 2012. I am currently studying in Tanzania at the Tanzanian Training Centre for Orthopaedic Technologists where I am pursuing a Diploma in prosthetics and othotics (pictured below).

Image 12

My vision

My vision and mission is to wisely make use of the knowledge that I am obtaining here at the Tanzanian Training Centre for Orthopaedic  Technologists, by offering the best services in prosthetics and orthotics to my fellow Zambians and beyond the borders as soon as I graduate.  On the other hand, I wish to state that I am very much interested with this profession. Therefore, I would love to further my studies to its highest level.

Image 9Chaumbwa11B

My hobbies

I am a fun loving person. I like to socialise, be adventurous and take long walks. I also like checking out what is new on 500 miles website and reading novels, my favorite sports are volleyball and basketball.

Personal details

I am a devoted Christian and my marital status is single. Above all I am a resilient person.

Back To Top